Programme watercircle.be - essenscia - VMx

SUSTAINABLE WATER MANAGEMENT IN THE CHEMICAL INDUSTRY (IN DUCTH)
General session

10:00 – 10:30

Welcome with coffee

10:30 – 10:45

Word of welcome
Matthias Mertens, watercircle.be

10:45 – 11:00

Stimulating innovation in the chemical sector

An Maes, essenscia

During this presentation, you'll receive an overview of the water initiatives being undertaken by the industry. This includes work on a "sectoral Blue Deal" with Minister Demir.

11:00 – 11:15

Projects in the spotlight

tbc

11:15 – 11:30

Biology 2.0 – history repeats itself

Thomas Dobbeleers – Cre@Aqua/Cargill

11:30 – 11:45

Sludge disintegration using ultrasound: Bayer pilot study

Bart Peeters - Bayer

To obtain complete conversion of nitrates to nitrogen gas via biological denitrification, sufficient COD per nitrate is required. If there is not enough COD present in the oncoming wastewater, external COD needs to be added, usually in the form of purchased methanol or acetic acid. An alternative may be to ultrasonically disintegrate a portion of the recycled sludge to generate an internal COD source for denitrification to replace the external COD. The presentation will explain the results of a pilot study.

11:45 – 12:00

Break

Parallel session 1: watercircle.be and essenscia

12:00 – 12:15

Cooling water management in the chemical industry

Dirk Neesen – Vynova

An overview is given of a number of identified measures to reduce cooling water consumption. This includes the production of make-up water, optimisation of the thickening factor, hydraulic optimisation and reuse of drain water.

12:15 – 12:30

CFD at the waste water treatment plant: lessons learned

Arne Braems – Eastman

12:30 – 12:45

Water recycling to the max: PTA purification-water reuse

Yasmine Braeken - Ineos

Many large process water streams are already reused at the Ineos Aromatics site in Geel. Nevertheless, efforts are still being made to improve our integrated recycling processes. By reusing waste water from our PTA purification section, we will need to take in approximately 10% less demineralised water, which will reduce our site water intake from the Albert Canal by 100,000 m³/year. In addition, this way we can recover acetic acid and other valuable chemicals, relieve the wastewater treatment and minimise our discharge into the Great Nete.

12:45 – 13:00

Removing microplastics from process water

Jelle Bulkmans – Borealis

13:00 – 14:00

Sandwich lunch at the watercircle.be stand

Parallel session 2: VMx

12:00 – 13:00

Limiting the spread of hazardous substances in the event of an incident

Ruben Dejonckheere – Trevi

In order to prevent the spread of hazardous substances in the event of an incident, a new BAT (Best Available Technique) and a directive were launched. BAT is for the containment of hazardous substances above ground and the guideline is for the determination of the volume of the mandatory fire water collection. For both cases, VLAREM is not sufficiently adequate and there was a demand for additional support from various quarters. This presentation will address both documents, coupled with practical examples.

13:00 – 14:00

Sandwich lunch at the watercircle.be stand



Watercircle.be (TNAV) is a Flemish federation of water technology companies. Our organisation creates a platform where Flanders ‘academia‘ and ‘industry‘ meet to broaden their viewpoint on the local and global water industry.





VMx vzw is the professional association for all environmental professionals (environmental coordinators, environmental experts, EIA experts, ...). The core tasks of this member association with nearly 900 members are: advocacy, information provision, continuous training and networking.





essenscia is the Belgian sector federation of the chemical industry and the life sciences. The organization represents the specific interests of companies active in chemistry, plastics, pharmaceuticals and biotech.

Participate

  • Students: € 25
  • Watercircle.be members: € 50
  • Members of partners (VMX and essenscia): €75
  • Non-members: € 100
  • Registration mandatory

Register from August 2022

Programme watercircle.be - essenscia - VMx

GESTION DURABLE DE L’EAU DANS LE SECTEUR DE LA CHIMIE (EN NEERLANDAIS)
Session plénière

10:00 – 10:30

Accueil et boisson chaude

10:30 – 10:45

Allocution de bienvenue
Matthias Mertens, watercircle.be

10:45 – 11:00

Stimulation de l’innovation dans le secteur de la chimie

An Maes, essenscia

L’intervenante donne un aperçu des initiatives prises par le secteur en matière de gestion de l’eau. Un « Blue Deal » sectoriel est notamment en cours de développement avec la ministre Demir.

11:00 – 11:15

Projets en vedette

tbc

11:15 – 11:30

Biologie 2.0 – l’histoire se répète

Thomas Dobbeleers – Cre@Aqua/Cargill

11:30 – 11:45

Désintégration des boues par ultrasons : étude pilote Bayer

Bart Peeters - Bayer

Pour convertir intégralement les nitrates en azote gazeux via le procédé de dénitrification biologique, la quantité de DCO disponible dans l’effluent à traiter doit être suffisante. Si ce n’est pas le cas, il faut rajouter une source de DCO externe, généralement de l’acide acétique ou du méthanol qu’il faut acheter. Une alternative serait de désintégrer une partie des boues recyclées dans un réacteur à ultrasons de façon à générer une source de DCO interne pour la dénitrification, en remplacement de la DCO externe. Les résultats d’une étude pilote sont présentés.

11:45 – 12:00

Pause

Session parallèle 1 : watercircle.be et essenscia

12:00 – 12:15

Gestion des eaux de refroidissement dans l’industrie chimique

Dirk Neesen – Vynova

L’intervenant donne un aperçu de différentes mesures qui ont été identifiées pour réduire la consommation d’eau de refroidissement. Il examine entre autres la production d’eau d’appoint, l’optimisation du facteur d’épaississement, l’optimisation hydraulique et la réutilisation des eaux d’évacuation.

12:15 – 12:30

CFD en matière d’épuration des eaux usées : lessons learned

Arne Braems – Eastman

12:30 – 12:45

Recyclage max. des eaux usées : Épuration PTA - réutilisation de l’eau

Yasmine Braeken - Ineos

La plupart des flux importants d’eau de process sur le site d’Ineos Aromatics à Geel sont déjà réutilisés. Cependant, nous essayons toujours d’améliorer davantage nos procédés de recyclage intégrés. La réutilisation des eaux usées de notre section de purification PTA permettra de réduire d’environ 10% notre consommation d’eau déminéralisée, et donc de réduire de 100 000 m³/an nos prélèvements d’eau dans le canal Albert pour notre site. Cette mesure permettra en outre de récupérer de l’acide acétique ainsi que d’autres produits chimiques utiles, de réduire la charge de la station d’épuration des eaux usées et de minimiser le volume de nos rejets dans la Grande Nèthe.

12:45 – 13:00

Élimination des microplastiques présents dans les eaux de processus

Jelle Bulkmans – Borealis

13:00 – 14:00

Collation au stand watercircle.be

Session parallèle 2: VMx

12:00 – 13:00

Lutter contre la dissémination des substances dangereuses en cas d’incident

Ruben Dejonckheere – Trevi

Un nouveau document MTD (meilleures techniques disponibles) et une directive ont été publiés pour lutter contre la dissémination des substances dangereuses lors d’un incident. Pour ce round, le MTD aborde l’encuvement des dispositifs de stockage en surface des substances dangereuses et la directive aborde la détermination du volume du collecteur d’eaux d’extinction obligatoire. Le Vlarem n’apportant pas de réponse adéquate à ces deux questions, diverses parties ont demandé un support additionnel. L’intervenant passe en revue les deux documents ainsi que des exemples du terrain.

13:00 – 14:00

Collation au stand watercircle.be



Watercircle.be est une fédération flamande des sociétés de technologie de l'eau. Notre organisation crée une plate-forme où le «milieu universitaire» et «l'industrie» de la Flandre se rencontrent pour élargir leur vision de l'industrie locale et mondiale de l'eau.





VMx asbl est l'association professionnelle de tous les professionnels de l'environnement (coordinateurs environnementaux, experts environnementaux, experts EIE, ...). Les tâches principales de cette association membre de près de 900 membres sont: le plaidoyer, la fourniture d'informations, la formation continue et le réseautage.





essenscia est la fédération belge du secteur de l’industrie chimique et des sciences de la vie. L’organisation défend les intérêts spécifiques de plus de 720 entreprises actives dans la chimie, les matières plastiques, la pharma et les biotechs.

Participation

  • Etudiants : € 25 (hors TVA)
  • Membres du watercircle.be : € 50 (hors TVA)
  • Membres d’entités partenaires (VMX et essenscia) : € 75 (hors TVA)
  • Non-membres : € 100 (hors TVA)
  • Inscription obligatoire

Inscription à partir d'août 2022