Programme watercircle.be - essenscia - VMx

SUSTAINABLE WATER MANAGEMENT IN THE CHEMICAL INDUSTRY (IN ENGLISH)
General session

10:00 – 10:30

Reception with coffee

10:30 – 10:40

Welcome
Matthias Mertens, watercircle.be

10:40 – 10:50

Stimulating innovation in the chemical sector

An Maes, essenscia

10:50 – 11:05

Learning network on water: initial findings

Steven Raes, Sweco

Water is a crucial factor in the production process for the chemical and life sciences sector. That's why essenscia is starting a 'Water Learning Network'. This initiative should help sector companies save and reuse more water. Among other things, practical examples from the sector were presented, as well as the companies' savings potential.

11:05 – 11:15

New subsidy opportunities

Joachim Castelain, Flanders Innovation & Entrepreneurship

Flanders Innovation & Entrepreneurship will give a short presentation about some new subsidy possibilities that will be launched.

11:15 – 11:30

Circular water concept at Dow Terneuzen

Dion van Oirschot (Rietland), Niels Groot (Dow)

Dow Terneuzen intends to go 100% circular for their water consumption and aims for complete independence from the drinking water network and from the intake of surface water. One of the key issues here is the upgrading of treated waste water back to process water for the Dow plant. Rietland provides post-purification in an aerated reed field in the purification train.

11:30 – 11:45

Potential reuse of treated waste water in the chemical industry

Dries De Cock, Epas International

Screening of potential reuse as process water of effluent water from the wastewater treatment plant of a company in the chemical industry by means of lab-scale tests. With this, a distinction was made between the combination 1) MBR/RO, 2) MBR/active carbon/RO, 3) UF/RO installation on the effluent water of the existing biological treatment.

11:45 – 12:00

Break

Parallel session 1: watercircle.be and essenscia

12:00 – 12:15

Eastman: Raising awareness in a company

Karl Gyssels, Eastman

The first step in sustainable water consumption at Eastman Ghent North was to make all employees involved more aware of water consumption. By doing this and by setting up a very simple monitoring system at the same time, a spectacular reduction in water consumption was achieved.

12:15 – 12:30

Janssen Pharmaceutica: drainage water as process water

Dirk Reyntjes, Janssen Pharmaceutica Beerse

During the winter months, the demand for RO water for boiler feed for industrial steam is relatively high. In the past, this feed water was created with softened drinking water. In this case, we have used the "surplus of greywater during winter" to reduce the purchase of potable water and, in addition, to increase the proportion of reuse of rainwater on an annual basis.

12:30 – 12:45

Water saving initiatives from Molymet Belgium: closed cooling water system

Nele Van Roey, Molymet

Initiatives taken by Molymet around the topic of water scarcity (water audit, water integration study for new Purox department,... Learning Network Water essencia)

12:45 – 13:00

Agfa Gevaert: Using rainwater as an alternative to groundwater

Marc Hofman, Agfa Gevaert

Researcher

Agfa Gevaert is looking at using rainwater instead of groundwater as process water. In doing so, they are appealing to some of their neighbours in a pilot drought project.

13:00 – 14:00

Sandwich lunch at the watercircle.be stand

Parallel session 2: VMx

12:00 – 13:00

Update of legislation and regulations on water in the chemical industry

Evert Vercauteren en Arne Braems, Sertius

Water Expert

An overview is given of important changes in legislation and regulations concerning water in the chemical industry. Relevant BREFs for the chemical industry will be discussed, as well as the new assessment framework for discharges of industrial wastewater. It also looks at the field of tension between water saving on the one hand and standardisation on the other hand in the case of water reuse and/or the use of high-tech purification technology.

13:00 – 14:00

Sandwich lunch at the watercircle.be stand



Watercircle.be (TNAV) is a Flemish federation of water technology companies. Our organisation creates a platform where Flanders ‘academia‘ and ‘industry‘ meet to broaden their viewpoint on the local and global water industry.





VMx vzw is the professional association for all environmental professionals (environmental coordinators, environmental experts, EIA experts, ...). The core tasks of this member association with nearly 900 members are: advocacy, information provision, continuous training and networking.





essenscia is the Belgian sector federation of the chemical industry and the life sciences. The organization represents the specific interests of companies active in chemistry, plastics, pharmaceuticals and biotech.

Participate

  • Students: € 25
  • Watercircle.be members: € 50
  • Members of partners (VMX and essenscia): €75
  • Non-members: € 100
  • Prices excluding VAT
  • Certificate of Continuing Education available
  • Registration required

Next edition 20/10/2022

Programme watercircle.be - essenscia - VMx

LA GESTION DURABLE DE L’EAU DANS LE SECTEUR DE LA CHIMIE (EN ANGLAIS)
Session plénière

10:00 – 10:30

Accueil autour d’un café

10:30 – 10:40

Allocution de bienvenue
Matthias Mertens, watercircle.be

10:40 – 10:50

Stimuler l’innovation dans le secteur de la chimie

An Maes, essenscia

10:50 – 11:05

Réseau d’apprentissage sur l’eau : premiers résultats

Steven Raes, Sweco

Pour le secteur de la chimie et des sciences de la vie, l'eau est un facteur crucial dans le processus de production. C'est pourquoi essenscia lance un « Réseau d’apprentissage Eau ». Cette initiative devrait aider les entreprises du secteur à économiser et à réutiliser davantage l'eau. Des exemples pratiques du secteur ont été présentés, ainsi que le potentiel d'économies des entreprises.

11:05 – 11:15

Nouvelles possibilités de subvention

Joachim Castelain, Agence flamande pour l’innovation et l’entreprise

L’Agentschap Innoveren en Ondernemen se livre à un bref exposé consacré à quelques possibilités inédites de subvention dont le lancement est effectif.

11:15 – 11:30

Concept de l’eau circulaire chez Dow Terneuzen

Dion van Oirschot (Rietland), Niels Groot (Dow)

Dow Terneuzen vise à devenir 100% circulaire pour sa consommation d'eau et vise une indépendance totale du réseau d'eau potable et de la prise d'eau de surface. L'un des points prioritaires pour ce faire est le retraitement des eaux usées purifiées en eau de traitement pour l'usine Dow. Rietland fournit, dans le train de purification, une post-purification en roselière aérée.

11:30 – 11:45

Réutilisation potentielle des eaux usées traitées dans l'industrie chimique

Dries De Cock, Epas International

Dépistage de la réutilisation potentielle comme eau de traitement, des effluents d'une installation d’épuration d’eaux usées d'une entreprise de l'industrie chimique au moyen d'essais en laboratoire. Une distinction a été faite entre la combinaison 1) MBR (bioréacteur à membrane)/OI (osmose inverse), 2) MBR/charbon actif/OI, 3) Installation UF (ultrafiltration)/OI au niveau des effets sur les effluents du traitement biologique existant.

11:45 – 12:00

Pause

Session parallèle 1 : watercircle.be et essenscia

12:00 – 12:15

Eastman : Sensibilisation accrue du personnel au sein d’une entreprise

Karl Gyssels, Eastman

La première étape de la stratégie d’utilisation durable de l’eau mise en oeuvre chez Eastman Gent Noord réside dans une sensibilisation de tous les membres du personnel à la consommation d’eau. Cette sensibilisation et la mise en place simultanée d’un suivi d’une grande simplicité se sont traduites par une baisse spectaculaire de la consommation d’eau.

12:15 – 12:30

Janssen Pharmaceutica : eaux d’exhaure utilisées comme eaux de processus

Dirk Reyntjes, Janssen Pharmaceutica Beerse

En hiver, la demande d’eau obtenue par osmose inverse pour assurer l’alimentation des chaudières affectées à la production de vapeur industrielle est relativement élevée. Par le passé, l’alimentation de ces chaudières était assurée par une eau potable adoucie. Dans ce cas particulier, nous avons fait usage de l’excédent d’eau grise recueilli pendant l’hiver afin de réduire la consommation d’eau potable tout en augmentant de surcroît le taux annuel de réutilisation des eaux pluviales.

12:30 – 12:45

Initiatives d’économies d’eau chez Molymet Belgium : l’eau froide en circuit fermé

Nele Van Roey, Molymet

Initiatives prises par Molymet sur le thème de la pénurie d'eau (audit eau, étude d'intégration eau pour le nouveau département Purox,… Learning Network Water essencia)

12:45 – 13:00

Agfa Gevaert : Utilisation de l’eau de pluie en alternative à l’eau souterraine

Marc Hofman, Agfa Gevaert

Researcher

Agfa Gevaert envisage l'utilisation d'eau de pluie au lieu d’eaux souterraines comme eau de traitement. Elle lance ici un appel à certains de ses voisins dans le cadre d'un projet de test de sécheresse dans les jardins.

13:00 – 14:00

Buffet sandwiches au stand de watercircle.be

Session parallèle 2: VMx

12:00 – 13:00

Actualisation de la législation et de la réglementation relatives à l’usage de l’eau dans l’industrie chimique

Evert Vercauteren en Arne Braems, Sertius

Water Expert

Les intervenants livrent un aperçu des modifications majeures apportées à la législation et à la réglementation relatives à l’usage de l’eau dans l’industrie chimique. Ainsi, les BREF pertinents pour l’industrie chimique ainsi que le nouveau cadre d’évaluation des rejets d’eaux usées industrielles seront abordés lors de cette session. Les intervenants s’arrêteront aussi sur le conflit existant entre, d’une part, l’économie d’eau et d’autre part, la normalisation de la réutilisation de l’eau et/ou de la mise en oeuvre de technologies pointues d’épuration des eaux.

13:00 – 14:00

Buffet sandwiches au stand de watercircle.be



Watercircle.be est une fédération flamande des sociétés de technologie de l'eau. Notre organisation crée une plate-forme où le «milieu universitaire» et «l'industrie» de la Flandre se rencontrent pour élargir leur vision de l'industrie locale et mondiale de l'eau.





VMx asbl est l'association professionnelle de tous les professionnels de l'environnement (coordinateurs environnementaux, experts environnementaux, experts EIE, ...). Les tâches principales de cette association membre de près de 900 membres sont: le plaidoyer, la fourniture d'informations, la formation continue et le réseautage.





essenscia est la fédération belge du secteur de l’industrie chimique et des sciences de la vie. L’organisation défend les intérêts spécifiques de plus de 720 entreprises actives dans la chimie, les matières plastiques, la pharma et les biotechs.

Participation

  • Etudiants : € 25
  • Membres de watercircle.be : € 50
  • Membres de partenaires (VMX et essenscia) : € 75
  • Non-membres : € 100
  • Prix hors TVA
  • Certificat de formation permanente disponible
  • Enregistrement obligatoire

Prochaine édition 20/10/2022